Volvo Polestar Racing signs Fredrik Ekblom

Volvo Polestar Racing has signed a three-year deal ahead of 2012 with triple STCC champion Fredrik Ekblom, joining Volvo works drivers Robert Dahlgren and Tommy Rustad.

”It is going to be great to work with Volvo Polestar Racing. To compete for Volvo with their vast experience and merits as a Swede feels incredibly inspiring,” said Ekblom.


Ekblom is going to race for Volvo in Swedish Racing League by TTA 2012 and the Swede is also going to be involved in Volvo’s international motorsports programme.

”We are extremely happy to sign Fredrik, he is a seriously fast and experienced driver. He will be a key part of our TTA programme, and above all, a strong asset in our potentially expanding international motorsports programme,” said Derek Crabb, Executive Director for Motorsport at Volvo Cars.


Volvo Polestar Racing is the official name and team for Volvo Car Corporation's factory motorsport programmes. The team ended a 16-year programme in the STCC this weekend with the record of most number of pole positions, podiums and victories. Volvo is for 2012 focusing on the new championship Swedish Racing League by Touring Car Team Association where the team is going to field four cars over the next four seasons. The team is at the same time evaluating the FIA World Touring Car Championship (WTCC] in 2011 for an official participation in the future.

« Go back
© 2015 Polestar all rights reserved